HELP AND ADVICE FROM OUR EXPERTS AND LAWYERS

Nask Which?

Each month this year, we will feature one of our original members on this page as part of celebrations of our 50th anniversary



Dr Dunworth with some of his Which? magazines

You could have forgiven Dr John Vernon Dunworth CBE for failing to notice the launch in 1957 of a small magazine aimed at improving shoppers' lives.

After all, the nuclear physicist was head of the reactor physics lab at the Atomic Energy Research Establishment at Harwell at the time. He had helped with the development of radar in the war and, in 1955, had been made a CBE. So he had a few things on his mind.

But Dr Dunworth did notice the new magazine, launched by the then Association for Consumer Research, and was so convinced such an organisation was vital that he joined from the start.

His government work had shown him 'the things manufacturers got up to' with contracts arranged via 'the old-boy network', and he had resisted it. He said: 'The bigger the lunch the less I was interested.'

He had witnessed a strong US consumer group and felt the UK needed such a body to speak up for the public: 'I was concerned there should be an organisation not unduly influenced by firms.'

Sadly, Which? was not around to test Dr Dunworth's own first experiments when, as a boy, he and his elder cousin put together their own valve radio: 'The first station that we picked was Hilversum in Holland. I still remember the excitement of that.'

Dr Dunworth has recently turned 90 and in the past 12 months has bought a Which? Best Buy washing machine, tumble dryer and kettle.

76 Ask the experts

NInside



Keith Galvau wants advice on running a hot-water system cost-effectively

78 Your letters

Double-decker trains, road pricing and the perfect porridge

79 Campaigns

The launch of our online guide on cosmetic surgery

80 Brief cases



Our lawyers helped Martin Doughty when a concert was cancelled

83 Contact Which? All the numbers and addresses you need

84 Question time

Prue Leith of the School Food Trust on the growing problem of obesity in kids

February 2007

Best Buy competition The ten winners of a Magicbox digital radio were Mr G Birkbeck, Middlesbrough; Mr R N Gardner, Milton Keynes; Mr S Goan, Newry; Mr I H Laurie, Oxon; Mr J P Lee, Brentwood; Mr B C Price, Bromley; Mr R C Roy, Preston; Mr S Smith, Leicester; Mr P D Vesey, Bournemouth; and Mr Reg Woods, Glasgow.

Line-up

EDITOR Neil Fowler MANAGING EDITOR Kim Winter EDITORIAL TEAM

Lisa Barber, Joanna Bregosz, Nick Cheek, Richard Headland, Sarah Hobson, Martyn Hocking, Bev Jordan, Paul Ryan, Barbara White HEAD OF NEWS Melanie Dowding NEWS TEAM Jaclyn Clarabut, Simon Spruce, Bob Tolliday HEAD OF DESIGN Judi Turner ART EDITOR Sofia Henry PICTURE EDITOR Ian Bartholomew **DESIGN TEAM** Neil Darby, Sam Williams HEAD OF RESEARCH Liam McCormack HEAD OF MONEY Paul Davies HEAD OF PRODUCTS Paul Smith HEAD OF SERVICES Nikki Ratcliff **RESEARCH TEAM** Charlie Allen, Jon Barrow, Etienne Beardmore, Paola Bonetti, Michael Briggs, Chris Christoforou, Alastair Colman, David Evans, Alison Eastwood,

Rosie Fletcher, Teresa Fritz,

Lucy Hairsine, Dave Holes, Anthony Hume, Alice Judd, Julie Lennard, Jo Langenhan, Ayesha Lawrence, Zoë Lopes, George Marshall-Thornhill, Chris Matthews, Sandie Mattioli, Dan Moore, Shamsun Naher, Cathy Neal, Andrew Neeson, David Pawsey, Lizzy Payne, Victoria Pearson, Ian Robinson, Martyn Saville, Nicola Sells, Kate Shipp, Ceri Stanaway, Matt Stevens, James Tallack, Nina Thomas, Pete Tynan, Fiona Vanier, Katie Waller, Alison Watson, Catherine West, Guy Widdowson, Richard Wilkinson

SCIENTIFIC ADVISERS Donna Baker, James Beardon, Andy Woodward HEAD OF VERIFICATION lan Ferrell VERIFICATION TEAM Callie Dickens, Alex Kouzarides, Robert Nicholls HEAD OF ADMIN Lucy Cannon ADMIN TEAM Elizabeth Bowden, Paula Dadic, Ros Mari Grindheim, Simone Johnson, Laura Monk, Emma Wilmot COUNCIL OF MANAGEMENT Chairman Professor Robert Pickard

 Deputy Chairmen Anthony Burton OBE and Tanya ard Heasman
Heasman
Members Professor Patrick Barwise, Niall Dickson, Neville Duncan, Margaret Ginman, Sue Leggate, Isabeth Llewellyn-Smith CB, Roger Pittock, John Rimington CB, Gary Waller, James Woodward-Nutt, Professor a Steve Woolgar, Brian Yates, im, Christopher Zealley and John Zealley

CHAIRMAN OF WHICH? LTD BOARD Michael Moore CBE

Chief Executive Peter Vicary-Smith