HELP AND ADVICE FROM OUR EXPERTS AND LAWYERS

SASkWhich?



Which? Legal Service helped Janet Watson prepare for adjudication when Lambeth Council rejected her appeal against an 'unreasonable' parking fine of £200 for 22 minutes. The council finally refunded her in full

Line-up

EDITOR Neil Fowler MANAGING EDITOR Kim Winter EDITORIAL TEAM Joanna Bregosz, Richard Headland, Martyn Hocking, Bev Jordan, Paul Ryan, Abigail Waraker, Barbara White HEAD OF NEWS Liz Edwards NEWS TEAM Jaclyn Clarabut, Simon Spruce. Bob Tolliday HEAD OF DESIGN Suzanne Taylor ART EDITOR Sofia Henry

PICTURE EDITOR Ian Bartholomew DESIGN TEAM Neil Darby, Mark Massey, Sam Williams HEAD OF RESEARCH Liam McCormack HEAD OF MONEY Ashleye Gunn HEAD OF PRODUCTS Paul Smith HEAD OF SERVICES Jenni Conti RESEARCH TEAM Jon Barrow, Paola Bonetti, Michael Briggs, Matthew Brown, Chris Christoforou Alastair Colman, Jack Doyle, David Evans, Alison Eastwood, Rebecca Fearnley,

Rosie Fletcher, Teresa Fritz. Dave Holes, Anthony Hume, Julie Lennard, Nick Kirby, Jo Langenhan, Ayesha Lawrence, Zoë Lopes, George Marshall-Thornhill, Chris Matthews, Sandie Mattioli, Mike Naylor, Andrew Neeson, David Pawsey, Lizzy Payne, Victoria Pearson Ian Robinson, Kate Shipp, Cassie Smith, Ceri Stanaway, James Tallack, Pete Tynan, Fiona Vanier, Katie Waller, Alison Watson, Catherine West, Guy Widdowson, Richard Wilkinson SCIENTIFIC ADVISERS Donna Baker, James Beardon, Andy Woodward

HEAD OF SUPPORT Lal Forfar HEAD OF VERIFICATION Ian Ferrell VERIFICATION TEAM Callie Dickens. Lucy Hairsine, Camilla Hassan, Robert Nicholls HEAD OF ADMIN Lucy Cannon ADMIN TEAM Elizabeth Bowden, Catherine Cherry, Paula Dadic. Simone Johnson, Sarah Ngo, Gemma Silcock COUNCIL OF

d COUNCIL OF MANAGEMENT Chairman Brian Yates Deputy Chairmen John Rimington CB and Tanya Heasman Members Professor Patrick Barwise, Anthony Burton OBE, Niall Dickson, Neville Duncan, Margaret Ginman, Sue Leggate, Elizabeth Llewellyn-Smith CB, Natalie Macdonald Robert Pickard, Roger Pittock, Gary Waller, James Woodward-Nutt, Professor Steve Woolgar, Christopher Zealley and John Zealley CHAIRMAN OF WHICH? LTD BOARD Michael Moore CBE CHIEF EXECUTIVE Peter Vicary-Smith

Inside



76 Ask the experts Marie Fowler wants advice after paying upfront for out-of-stock goods



78 Your letters John Dwyer gives tips on growing blueberries

79 Campaigns Our fight for pension

reform makes an impact



80 Brief cases Our lawyers help Mike Lake when a free trial for hearing aids goes wrong

83 Contact Which? All the numbers and addresses you need

84 Question time Dame Deirdre Hutton, chair of the Food Standards Agency

July 2006 Best Buy competition Congratulations to Mr P Lyn of Bishop Auckland, who won a home-cinema system and digital camcorder

www.which.co.uk

October 2006 75